Skip to content

Packing Success!

March 16, 2012
by

I have to say… the “rolling technique” tip from my earlier post was the winner for my packing!  I was able to fit the following into a 20-inch roll-aboard (for a 7 day trip):

  • 1 pair jeans (wearing a second pair on the plane)
  • 1 pair capris
  • 7 t-shirts
  • 3 tank tops
  • swim suit
  • 3 long sleeve shirts
  • toiletries – toothpaste/shampoo/conditioner/hair gel/sunscreen/bug stuff (all under 3 ounces!)
  • undergarments
  • socks
  • flip flops
  • 2 books
  • pajamas (shorts & t-shirt)
  • umbrella
  • collapsible shopping bag (I love to shop!)
  • winter hat & gloves
  • ankle brace(s) – I have HORRIBLE ankles, I never leave the country without my ankle braces in case I sprain one!
  • mini-first aid kit
  • 3 travel size kleenex packs
  • Tylenol PM – I never leave the country without this either – you never know when you’ll need a little help sleeping!

Like I wrote above, I’m counting a 2nd pair of jeans with the ones I’m wearing on the plane.  I’m also going to bring a fleece jacket with me on the plane – although it’s about 75 degrees here in Minneapolis, 80 degrees in Miami, and well over 85 degrees in the jungle, we will be high up in the Andes mountains for the majority of the trip, and it can get quite chilly at night (hence the hat & gloves!).

My “purse” for this trip is actually my new camera bag – the Lowepro Passport Sling.  I asked for this bag for Christmas after I lugged the tiny little camera bag that came with my Nikon D-SLR all over Kenya.  The bag itself was great for the camera… but nothing else!  My new Lowepro bag has an expandable area where I can actually carry my wallet/passport/snacks/reading materials.  What a novel concept!  I’ll report back on how it went with this bag when I get back!

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

