Skip to content

Photo Challenge: Day 7

February 7, 2012

This is the button for the crosswalk at Fifth Ave. and Craig St., just a few blocks from where I live.  In the background is the Cathedral of St. Paul.  This happens to be one of many diagonal crosswalks in the city, also known as a “Barnes Dance” (after one of the early supporters of diagonal crosswalks).

Today’s topic is “button”, in case you missed that.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 8, 2012 12:54 pm

    Great shot- I love the clarity of the cathedral and trees in the background. And you’ve solved a mystery for me! I have never been able to figure out why everyone struts through that intersection so boldly. Now I know it is the plan. -kate

    • February 8, 2012 1:22 pm

      It is a strange thing but I had seen it elsewhere, most notably Denver, where most of their crosswalks downtown are diagonal, or were when I went there as a teenager. (Sara, are they still?)

      I take it you’re new to Pittsburgh too. What do you think of the city?

  2. February 8, 2012 2:31 pm

    Good question! I’m not sure if Denver has the diagonal cross-walks. On my most recent trip, we were only in Lo-Do, which does not. But it is very possible that the business district still has them. Perhaps I’ll have to go back to find out 🙂

    From a pedestrian stand-point, the diagonal cross-walk just makes sense. People walk in whatever fashion is quickest/most efficient, so I would think in a high-pedestrian area it would be worthwhile having traffic sit just a moment longer for those who want to cross that way.

    Me… well I just walk in the middle of the street whenever possible. In fact, that’s one of my favorite things. Ever.

Leave a Reply

