Skip to content

New Year’s Eve Plans… or no?

December 30, 2011
by

So, what’s everyone doing for New Year’s Eve?  What better way to usher out the old and welcome the new than by joining the millions of other people searching for the perfect NYE?  There has been a funny little image making it’s way around Facebook and Pinterest – I think it sums up the ‘typical’ New Year’s Eve perfectly:

 

I just recently got into How I Met Your Mother.  Yes, I know, I’m like 6 years behind the times.  I’ve never claimed to be one of the cool kids who knows all the trends.  Plus, I love being able to to watch things without waiting.  6 seasons of HIMYM are on Netflix Instant!  It’s fantastic.

Anyway, there’s this great episode about NYE in Season 1 of HIMYM.  Ted plans the whole night down to the last minute, and, of course, everything falls to pieces. He has a great realization later in the episode that NYE can never really live up to your expectations, because you just put too much pressure on the night.  Hasn’t that happened to everyone at some point?  Not just NYE, but some other time when you’ve gone out with your friends and you just expect the night to be so AWESOME and it’s… not.  That’s the worst.  I think it’s important to remember that generally the best times just happen.  In fact, all of my favorite ‘crazy night out’ stories have come from snap decisions and little, if no planning. 

I don’t want you to think I’m a NYE grinch – I’ll be out there with all of the other revelers, doing my best to kick 2011 to the curb with some sort of class (HA! Most likely I’ll be going down that dangerous path of drink both shots and beer and wonder why the room is spinning by 11:45).   But, I’ll be out there.  Without a plan.  Hoping for the ever elusive “perfect’ NYE.

And one of these days, I’m REALLY going to plan something, and hopefully I’ll end up here:

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

