Skip to content

Chestnuts Roasting…

December 6, 2011

no for real- actual chestnuts roasting in my oven.

Have you noticed these at Trader Joe’s?

I did, and I was very excited.  Until I lived in Germany during Christmas, I thought that roasted chestnuts were something that only existed in fairy tales and Christmas songs.  Around Bavaria you can find street carts roasting chestnuts on every other corner.  I had never roasted them myself though, so I thought I’d give it a try.  Turns out it’s super easy.

Just cut an ‘X’ in each chestnut:

Then pop them in the oven at 400 for about 10-12 minutes

After you crack off the hard outer shell and peel away the papery inner shell you will be left with these brainy warm nuggets of sweet deliciousness:

And the nice part is, this is one warm and cozy tradition that is good for your health!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

